2018 Engman Prize winners

The winners of the 2018 Engman Prize for creative writing are:

  • “Funerals and Sparrows” by Rachel Brown (Poetry)
  • “In a Gas Station the Day After” by Matthew Peckham (Poetry)
  • “Rhapsody on Laurel” by Jackie Docka (Creative Nonfiction
  • “Died, 2016” by Kelton Holsen (Creative Nonfiction)

The honorable mentions are:

  • “Runaway Rat” by Halle Chambers (Fiction)
  • “The King of Infinite Space” by Kelton Holsen (Fiction)
  • “Miikawaadendan” by Ashley Murray (Poetry)
  • “Adulthood” by Anne Liners (Creative Nonfiction)


This article first appeared in the Friday, April 13, Edition of The Echo.